Montserrat Premier Makes Ministerial Appointments

GIU Davy Hill, Montserrat (Thursday, November 21, 2019) – The newly elected Premier of Montserrat, Hon. Easton Taylor Farrell, who was sworn-in to office on 19 November after leading his Movement for Change and Prosperity (MCAP) to victory at the polls a day earlier, has announced his Cabinet and assigned portfolios for members of his government.

Hon. Taylor Farrell will be responsible for Finance, Economic Development, Trade, Tourism and Culture.

Hon. Samuel Joseph is the Deputy Premier and will assume responsibilities for Communication and Works, and Labour.

Hon. Charles T Kirnon is the Minister of Education, Health, Community Services, Sports, Youth, and Ecclesiastic Affairs.

Hon. Crenston Buffonge is the Minister of Agriculture, Lands, Housing, and the Environment.

Hon. Veronica Dorsette-Hector will serve as Parliamentary Secretary with responsibility for Health, Community Services, Youth, and Sports.

Premier Taylor-Farrell said that in assigning the portfolios, consideration was given to how to best utlilise the skills of members of his government.

“I am confident in the abilities of the members of my government, in whom the electorate have given a mandate to improve the fortunes of Montserrat and lead us on a path to prosperity,” he said.

“The people of Montserrat can rest assured that I will lead a government of integrity that upholds the tenets of good governance. We will get to work immediately to deliver on our promises to the people.”

The Movement for Change and Prosperity won five of the nine seats in Montserrat’s Legislative Assembly on Monday, November 18, 2019. The swearing-in of the new government will take place on Friday, November 22, at 10:00 a.m.


Comments are closed.